Festively Frazzled – Cookie FAIL

24 Dec

When you are a cook or a baker, one of the aspects of the holiday that lives, cherished, in your imagination is the delightful memories you will make while cooking with your children.  The only evidence I have from my childhood of the making of Christmas cookies is this photo of me baking with my Grammy Ruth in Colorado – probably about 1977.

Festive outfit, too.

As you can see, I am a model of good behavior and artistic integrity, placing my sprinkles JUST SO.

Is it any wonder that I had this fantasy of making cookies with my own children?  Dan is really the best baker in the house, so he was also anxious to try spritz cookies with the boys.  I picked up the appropriate sprinkles and we prepared for a day of Rockwell-esque delights.

I am going to let the pictures tell the story, and you can decide if we should give these cookies to the neighbors or not.  I am not going to post our cookie dough recipe, though, because it neglects to mention that parents should first take a VALIUM.  Fatal omission.

Starting the dough...chair battle

Attempt at dough theft.

Daddy demonstrates technique

Uhhhh...too many sprinkles, boys

Sprinkle abuse...sans cookie

The evidence

Christmas cookie dream. Just as imagined.

May your holiday be peaceful and delicious!  Here’s wishing you some cookie to go with your sprinkles.

7 Responses to “Festively Frazzled – Cookie FAIL”

  1. Sandra January 1, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I was all for giving them to the neighbours, but then you lost me with the snotty nose. I would however be in agreement with giving them to neighbours if you don’t like them.
    This was funny!
    I love how they dumped all the sprinkles on the same cookie!
    You’re a Saint!

  2. frazzledfoodie January 2, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    HA! You know, until you said it, I hadn’t even recognized that as a snotty nose. I guess I thought it was just caked sugar…but I agree it is a suspicious formation on his face. Ahhhh, parenthood.

  3. Michelle Stempien January 3, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    How did the cookies taste? They look yummy albeit messy. I make spritz too and I’ve had to evict the kids from the kitchen until we are ready to do the sprinkles because they keep trying to grab the cookie press. Josh was very precise with his sprinkling last year to the point that he had to say “prinkle, prinkle” with every cookie. This year, he was obviously subscribing to the William and Cormac School of Sugar Sprinkling. I’m hoping I’ll be able to get them away from cut-out cookies by next year-what a pain!

    • frazzledfoodie January 3, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      What cookies survived the sprinkle tsunami actually tasted fine. We stealthily completed a tray while they were rapturously consuming pure sugar.

  4. mealsbysheri January 19, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    I vote this as a definate cookie SUCCESS!!! As the mother of 2 boys, I’ve learned to let them make a mess sometimes, ignore the less than perfect presentations and treasure the moments where they get to freely experiment…then, I leave the dishes for the next day! It takes a brave parent to let go once in a while! My OCD will return tomorrow… 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Terrifyingly True Tales of Beatrix Potter « Naps Happen - June 17, 2011

    […] This is one of the more advanced Potter books, and has a pretty complicated plot, but I’ll try to boil it down for you.  Tom Kitten’s mother, Tabitha Twitchit, needs to do some baking, and this means she needs her kittens off her back, so she plans to lock all three of them in the cupboard (whether or not it is “under the stairs” is not known).  You may think this sounds like Muggle torture, but I have baked with my kids (when I should have locked them in the cupboard, instead) and this is what happened. […]

  2. The Terrifyingly True Tales of Beatrix Potter | Naps Happen - September 10, 2013

    […] This is one of the more advanced Potter books, and has a pretty complicated plot, but I’ll try to boil it down for you.  Tom Kitten’s mother, Tabitha Twitchit, needs to do some baking, and this means she needs her kittens off her back, so she plans to lock all three of them in the cupboard (whether or not it is “under the stairs” is not known).  You may think this sounds like Muggle torture, but I have baked with my kids (when I should have locked them in the cupboard, instead) and this is what happened. […]

Leave a Reply

