Guest Cook! Butterscotch Sugar Cookie Bakes with Ice Cream

11 Apr

She had me at “spontaneous cookiegasms.”

My friend Kim is a very funny and very talented writer and blogger and an equally frazzled parent.  Like the rest of us, she knows a good dessert when she sees one.  Well…when she makes one.  Because she made this up, people.  I’ve badgered her into letting me post this delectable treat on my blog, and I’m just leaving it all in her words.  They were good to begin with.

For those of you who are looking for a shortcut to a homemade dessert, this is your recipe.  We’re talking majorly easy – like Pillsbury cookie dough.  Also, I have to confess that I topped all of this off by putting chocolate syrup on it.  Ahem.

Go forth and have a sugar meltdown.  You won’t be sorry.  Oh – and you can get these tiny springform pans at Michael’s craft store if you are having trouble finding them!

In Kim’s words…

On October 7th, 2010 I posted the story and recipe below on my blog Let Me Start By Saying…. Since then, this recipe has become my How To Make Friends recipe.

Basically, I invite mothers from my kids’ classes over for some one-on-one time for me to suss them out the kids to play. I make them lunch/dinner and see if they are, like me, Eaters. Plate-cleaners. Women Who Refuse To Live On Iceberg Lettuce. If they talk with their mouth full to ask whether the goat cheese in my salad is seasoned or grab another slice of pizza without apology, I dip into my fridge and cabinets for the ingredients to Kim’s Butterscotch Cookie Bakes.

I ask, all casually, if she likes sugar cookies and butterscotch. (NO ONE has yet to say no.)

I whip this up with hope in my heart that I may have made a new friend, distract all our kids with basic cookies or plain vanilla ice cream of their own, and then serve my Potential New Friend a steamy hot and gooey dessert with Haagen Dasz melting on top to see if she can fall in love with me through my dessert.

So far? Each of the women I have served this to have moaned in ecstasy and insisted on regular play dates.

Yes, I am entrapping interesting women into friendship with butter, sugar and cream.

No, I see nothing wrong with this.

Kim’s Butterscotch Sugar Cookie Bakes with Ice Cream

My friend recently told me that when she was living in California there was a place that made huge individual cookies you eat hot from the oven with a spoon.

After recovering from the brain implosion of cookie lust that information caused my imagination, I began trying to figure out how I could create something like that in my own kitchen. With minimal time, effort and energy.

Tonight I had a friend coming over who is always willing to try my attempts at new recipes, so I threw together what I hoped would be a decent dessert.

We both pretty much spat sugar over each other as we experienced simultaneous Cookiegasms upon first bite. I took photos as I went along baking, and think I have all my measurements and times pretty darn close.

They have something like a crisp crust, the raw sugar giving just enough texture to the outside to compliment the hot, gooey inside full of melty butterscotch chips. The smooth, creamy ice cream keeps it from being too hot, and smooths out the whole experience. Delicious!

Being one to never ever follow recipes exactly (it’s a Turrets-like affliction; I simply can’t help myself but change things up when baking/cooking), I give full permission to you to try different chips, different pans, or even making you own cookie dough. Just give me some cred for coming up with this in the first place, please!

Here is my recipe, in all it’s estimated glory. Enjoy! And if you make it, please let me know how you liked it!!

Kim’s Butterscotch Sugar Cookie Bakes with Ice Cream

(4) 4” Wide x 2” Deep Springform Pan (or a close approximation)

16.5oz roll of Pillsbury Sugar Cookie Dough

5oz (just over ½ cup) Butterscotch Chips

Sugar in the Raw

Pam Butter spray

Haagen Dazs ‘Five’ Vanilla Bean ice cream

~ Makes 4 Servings

1. Preheat oven to 375*F

2. Cut up the roll of dough into pieces and put in medium-sized bowl.

Cut cut cut

3. Use your hands to mix the Butterscotch chips in with the dough.

4. Form the dough into 4 equal parts. Roll each into a ball.

Ball ball ball

5. Roll each ball in raw sugar.

Roll roll roll

6. Spray the 4 Springform pans with Butter Pam spray, coating well.

7. Bake at 375*F for about 15mins (edges will pull from pan & be golden brown, top will appear fully cooked).

8. Let cookies cool for 2 minutes, then pop from pans into serving bowls, 1 per bowl.

9. While each cookie is hot, top each with a scoop of Vanilla Bean ice cream. Serve with spoon.

Hot hot hot

Soft gooey deliciousness inside!

5 Responses to “Guest Cook! Butterscotch Sugar Cookie Bakes with Ice Cream”

  1. letmestartbysaying April 11, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Note: I have also made these with cupcake tins and ramekins…though cooking in the ramekins takes a wee bit longer. Enjoy!!

  2. She's a Maineiac April 11, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    They look delicious! I’ll have to try this one, thanks. 🙂

  3. Nicole (Ninja Mom) April 11, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Yes! I will come for play dates. Be there in about 12 hours. Have these ready!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest Cook! Butterscotch Sugar Cookie Bakes with Ice Cream « The … » kitchen tools|cooking tools|tea set|baking pans|silicone bakeware|spatula|utensils :good kitchen help - tea set,vintage tea sets,silver tea set,antique tea sets,gold tea set - April 11, 2011

    […] rest is here: Guest Cook! Butterscotch Sugar Cookie Bakes with Ice Cream « The … Posted in baking pans – Tagged even-making, follow-recipes, help-myself, never-ever, […]

  2. Guest Cook! Coconut Chocolate Cookies « The Frazzled Foodie - June 20, 2011

    […] Kim from Let Me Start By Saying did such a cool dessert post before, I’m am featuring her very fine-looking recipe here.  I especially like that it shamelessly […]

Leave a Reply

