Guest Cook! Coconut Chip Cookies

20 Jun

“B.S.!” my friends are saying.  Those who know me well are aware of my strange aversion to all tropical fruits, including coconut.  Wait…is a coconut a fruit?

It’s true.  I have not made these cookies.  Instead, I decided that it was time to rise above my unfair dislike of coconut and, in honor of hot summer days, put up a recipe that touches on the tropics.  The pictures are good enough for me.

Because Kim from Let Me Start By Saying did such a cool dessert post before, I’m am featuring her very fine-looking recipe here.  I especially like that it shamelessly utilizes a cake mix in order to allow you to look like June Cleaver without having time to get too hot from standing over the oven.  Grab your popsicles and pull up a chair on the deck!  I invite you all to make these lip-smacking little numbers and share your thoughts.

Happy baking!

******************************************

In early June I saw a recipe on Thoughts Appear’s blog entitled Coconut Chocolate Cookies aka Crack Cookies. I had just been thinking about how much I love coconut, so I kept this recipe in mind for the next time I wanted to stuff my face with sweet sweet joy needed to make a new & easy dessert.

A friend invited me over for dinner this week with the kids, and asked me to bring dessert.

So I tried the recipe.

To describe eating these cookies is like trying to describe eating warm rainbows while a fluffy big-pawed puppy licks your toes. Impossibly awesome.

I believe this is the original recipe on the Taste of Home website. But I played a little with the one I saw on Thoughts Appear’s site, which I will show you below.

I made plain, peanut butter chip, and butterscotch chip cookies to see which I liked best. Peanut butter rocked my world by a landslide! Especially warm. Butterscotch was merely absolutely delicious. Plain was still yummy, but my kids attacked them so I kept my own focus on the chippy ones.

Coconut “Chip” Cake Mix Cookies

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 package of “Moist” white cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup flaked coconut (pack it in the measuring cup – don’t skimp!)
  • 3/4 cup chips: Either peanut butter chips, butterscotch chips, cinnamon chips or chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F.
  2. Cover baking sheet(s) in parchment paper or lightly grease.
  3. Beat together the eggs and oil.
  4. Add the cake mix and coconut. Mix well, scraping the bowl once or twice.
  5. Stir in the chips.

These are peanut butter chips: My favorite!

6. Roll dough into 1.5″ balls and put on baking sheet.

I made plain coconut, butterscotch chip & peanut butter chip during my "research".

7. Bake for about 10-12 minutes. Do not let them get browned.

The warm, moist, light, fluffy, deliciously coconutty final product.

8. They are very soft, so let them cool completely before moving them into a container. Or, just eat them off the pan all hot and gooey like I do. Either way is fine.

Cake mix + coconut + chips = Mmmmmm

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
For another of Kim’s favorite sweet treats, try the Butterscotch Cookie Bakes recipe she shared here back in April (it wins her new friends!).
Kim can be found at her blog Let Me Start By Saying, on Facebook, and on Twitter as @LetMeStart.

12 Responses to “Guest Cook! Coconut Chip Cookies”

  1. letmestartbysaying June 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    As you know, I am allergic to chocolate, so I used peanut butter chips & butterscotch chips. But I will not be offended if you use chocolate chips. I promise! Especially since the original recipe called for them.

    • frazzledfoodie June 20, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Ooops! Sorry – didn’t follow the change in the recipe title from the first recipe to yours. Adjustment made – my apologies!

      • letmestartbysaying June 20, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

        No worries! i just assumed you were trying not to look at the word “coconut” for too long, and missed it. 😉

  2. Ziva June 20, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    What on earth are peanut butter chips, cinnamon chips, and butterscotch chips? Australians are really kept in the dark when it comes to food like this.

    • frazzledfoodie June 21, 2011 at 7:47 am #

      Ziva, they’re just like chocolate chips in a bag – only these other flavors.

    • letmestartbysaying June 21, 2011 at 8:03 am #

      The brands I have at home are: Hershey’s cinnamon chips, Reece’s peanut butter chips, and Nestle/Toll House butterscotch chips. Do some research and hunt them down – delicious!!

  3. Rainyday June 21, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Those look deadly delicious!

    • letmestartbysaying June 21, 2011 at 8:03 am #

      I seriously ate the peanut butter ones as breakfast. Warm, with coffee. Mmmm…

  4. thoughtsappear June 21, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I can’t wait to try this recipe out with butterscotch chips! Good idea!

    • letmestartbysaying June 22, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

      I ate the peanut butter ones for breakfast, butterscotch after dinner. Because variety is important to a healthy diet.

  5. Allison @ Motherhood, WTF? June 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    We just made these. Everyone was super excited. And then we learned something new about L. He hates coconut. He is still crying over the insult of us all baking something that he doesn’t like. Unfortunately, I REALLY like them.

  6. Linda Lewis July 17, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Some of my favorite things in one cookie recipe….how good is that, and I would like to have a glass of milk to go with the warm cookies!

Leave a Reply

